This online shop is using cookies to give you the best shopping experience. Thereby for example the session information or language setting are stored on your computer. Without cookies the range of the online shop's functionality is limited. If you do not agree, please click here. x

LP-3 - Gene Vincent - In Spain - Spanish Capitol EP Collection

Product 1814 of 1823
Sleazy Records
* incl. VAT, plus shipping
Ready for shipping Delivery time: 2 - 4 days Weight: 0.3 kg
3 x LP with Trifold Sleeve! - TOP DELUXE EDITION!!!!


Side A
1. Bluejean Bop
2. Jezebel
3. Jumps, Giggle And Shout
4. Ain't She Sweet
5. Red Bluejeans And A Pony Tail
6. You Told A Fib
7. Hold Me, Hug Me, Rock Me
8. Unchained Melody

Side B
9. By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
10. Flea Brain
11. Rollin' Danny
12. Your Cheatin' Heart
13. Baby Blue
14. Dance In The Street
15. Lovely Loretta

Side C
16. Dance To The Bop
17. Five Feet Of Lovin'
18. The Wayward Wind
19. Somebody Help Me
20. Keep It A Secret
21. Right Here On Earth
22. Wild Cat

Side D
23. Right Now
24. The Night Is So Lonely
25. I Love You
26. Peace Of Mind
27. Summertime
28. Look What You Gone And Done To Me
29. Crazy Times
30. She She Little Sheila

Side E
31. Greenback Dollar
32. Darlene
33. Big Fat Saturday Night
34. Hot Dollar
35. Pretty Pearly
36. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
37. I'm Going Home (To See My Baby)
38. Mister Loneliness

Side F
39. Anna Annabelle
40. Spaceship To Mars
41. There I Go Again (Whoops I'm Dreamin')
42. Be-Bop-A-Lula '62
43. King Of Fools
44. I Got A Baby
45. Say Mama
46. Be-Bop-A-Lula

GENE VINCENT IN SPAIN - Spanish Capitol Ep Collection - 1957-1968
Gene Vincent was one of the great names among the pioneers of rock'n'roll in the 1950s. He started his career in 1956 in a casual way, but his initial success with his single Be-Bop-A-Lula came to overshadow Elvis Presley himself.

Gene developed an unusual sound, and his years on Capitol Records are considered one of the pillars of the incipient American and European rock'n'roll of the 50's and early 60's, in his first years with The Blue Caps, with whom he achieved an aggressive and wild sound, but also in his European revival in the early 60's, when he reinvented himself playing a very elaborate rock'n'roll and always marked by its particular voice.

In Spain between 1957 and 1968, 11 EPs were released containing part of their recordings for Capitol. Most were Spanish editions of American or French EPs, although some of them presented important differences in covers and details.

This triple Lp compiles all the songs that made up those 11 EPs, including as bonus two of Gene's most emblematic songs, Be-Bop-A-Lula / Say Mama, released originally in 1956 and 1958, but which did not see the light in Spain until 1968, when they were released on a single.

Gene Vincent never acted in Spain, despite the fact that his presence in neighbouring France was more than usual, being recognized there at the same level as Chuck Berry or Elvis Presley. But his songs did reach the ears of many kids in Spain in the early sixties, through the Spanish editions of the EPs collected here and also by the radio stations  of the American Army bases, influencing Spanish bands and singers such as The Rocking Boy, Los Sirex  or Bruno Lomas, who always recognized him as one of their main influences.

But despite never giving a show in Spain, in the summer of 1963 Gene Vincent, and his then wife Margaret Russel, did step on Spain, visiting Palma de Mallorca where they spent a few days on vacation. On June 30 of that year they went to the Palma bullring where they witnessed a bullfight.  Gene even photographed himself together with the matador Paco Camino. That unique visit of Gene Vincent to Spain serves as a perfect link for the edition of this project, a luxury edition in which the entire short history of Gene and his music with Spain is fully summarized.

DeeJay Francho

Review product

You have to be logged in to write a review.
No review available for this product.